General Awareness Prep – Part III – Heads of Important Organizations

When it comes to MBA entrance exams life CMAT, IIFT, SNAP, etc. the knowledge of the heads of important organizations is really helpful. More often than not, you will end up getting couple of questions on these. There is also a reasonable chance that you will get a question of Match-The-Following type where this information would be really useful.

I have compiled a list of the current heads of important bodies and divided into two parts: India & International. Both of them are given below. (F) indicates that the person is a female.


Department / Position Person
Attorney General of India Goolam Essaji Vahanvati
Central Vigilance Commissioner Pradeep Kumar
Chairman, ISRO K Radhakrishnan
Chairman, LIC D K Mehrotra
Chairman, NABARD Prakash Bakshi
Chairman, NASSCOM Natarajan Chandrasekaran
Chairman, National Knowledge Commission Sam Pitroda
Chairman, Planning Commission Manmohan Singh
Chairman, Press Council of India Markandey Katju
Chairman, Press Trust of India R Lakshmipathy
Chairman, SEBI U K Sinha
Chairman, TRAI Rahul Kullar
Chairman, UIDAI Nandan Nilekani
Chief Economic Advisor Raghuram Rajan
Chief Election Commissioner V S Sampath
Chief Justice of India Altamas Kabir
Chief of the Air Staff Air Chief Marshall N A K Browne
Chief of the Army Staff General Bikram Singh
Chief of the Naval Staff Admiral D K Joshi
Comptroller and Auditor General Vinod Rai
Defence Secretary Shashi Kant Sharma
Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission Montek Singh Ahluwalia
Director, BARC Sekhar Basu
Director of the Enforcement Directorate Rajan Katoch
Director, Intelligence Bureau Syed Asif Ibrahim
Foreign Secretary Ranjan Mathai
Governor, RBI D. Subbarao
National Security Advisor Shivshankar Menon
President, BCCI N. Srinivasan
President, CII Adi Godrej
President, FICCI R V Kanoria
President, IOA Abhay Singh Chautala
Principal Scientific Adviser R Chidambaram


Department / Position Person
Commonwealth, Head Queen Elizabeth II
Commonwealth, Secretary-General Kamalesh Sharma
FIFA, President Sepp Blatter
International Court of Justice, President Peter Tomka
International Cricket Council, President Alan Isaac
International Labor Organization (ILO), Director-General Guy Ryder
International Monetory Fund (IMF), Managing Director Christine Lagarde (F)
International Olympic Committee Jacques Rogue
INTERPOL, President Mireille Ballestrazzi (F)
INTERPOL, Secretary-General Ronald Noble
NASA, Administrator Charles F Bolden
OPEC, President Rostam Ghasemi
OPEC, Secretary-General Abdallah el-Badri
SAARC, Chairman Mohammed Waheed Hassan Manik
SAARC, Secretary-General Ahmed Saleem
UNESCO, Director-General Irina Bokova (F)
UNICEF, Executive Director Anthony Lake
United Nations (UN), Secretary-General Ban Ki Moon
World Bank, Chief Economist Kaushik Basu
World Bank, President Jim Yong Kim
World Health Organization (WHO), Director-General Margaret Chan (F)
World Trade Organization (WTO), Director-General Pascal Lamy

I hope you will find this list useful. This list was last checked / updated on 18th February 2013.

– Ravi Handa

Ravi Handa, an alumnus of IIT Kharagpur, has been working in the CAT Prep sector for the past 7 years. He currently runs a website for XAT GK Preparation –


Ravi Handa

Founder of